About Oakton

Des Plaines Campus, 1600 East Golf Road, Des Plaines, IL 60016
Skokie Campus, 7701 North Lincoln Avenue, Skokie, IL 60077

Oakton Community College is committed to helping students define their path to success and providing support and resources to ensure they reach their goals. With more than 80 areas of study offered at campuses in Des Plaines and Skokie along with courses available online and at satellite locations—we strive to provide equitable learning opportunities to our diverse student population.

Our Educational Programs and Services

In accordance with the Illinois Community College Act, Oakton provides, at minimum, the following educational programs and services:

  • Baccalaureate and general education for students planning to transfer to four-year colleges and/or to earn an associate degree in liberal arts, science, engineering or fine arts.
  • Occupational education to provide students with career training suitable for obtaining employment or enhancing occupational skills.
  • General or developmental studies for students requiring additional preparation before they can begin college-level education.
  • Continuing education for residents, employers, and employees of the community desiring classes without having to enroll in formal college-level courses.
  • Activities to meet specialized needs of the community; such activities may include workshops, seminars, and customized employee training programs offered on or off campus.
  • Student services, such as counseling and advisement, testing and tutoring.


Established in 1969, Oakton Community College is accredited by The Higher Learning Commission of the North Central Association of Colleges and Schools. The North Central Association is located at:

230 S. LaSalle Street
Suite 7-500
Chicago, Illinois 60604-1413

The College is recognized by the Illinois Community College Board and is a member of the American Association of Community Colleges, as well as numerous professional organizations.

Equal Opportunity in Employment

Oakton Community College does not discriminate on the basis of race, color, creed, religion, national origin, disability, age, marital status, military status, socioeconomic status, sex or gender, gender identity, or sexual orientation in admission to and participation in its educational programs, College activities and services, or employment practices. The College does not tolerate sexual harassment or sexual assault by or of its students or employees. Inquiries regarding compliance with state or federal nondiscrimination requirements and/or sexual harassment may be directed to the Vice President for Student Affairs, Chief Human Resources Officer, or the Director of the Office for Civil Rights, Department of Education, Washington, D.C.

Equal Opportunity in Education

Oakton Community College is committed to making all programs accessible and providing reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities. Support services/accommodations are in accordance with Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973 and the Americans with Disabilities Act. Individuals needing accommodations or services should contact 847-635-1759 at least four weeks prior to the beginning of the semester.

Oakton complies with the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act (FERPA), 20 USC Section 1232 (g). For specific information, see the Oakton Student Handbook or contact the Registrar Services. Students who believe their rights have been abridged may file a complaint with the Family Policy Compliance Office,

Department of Education
400 Maryland, S.W.
Washington, DC 20202-4605

concerning the alleged failures of the College to comply with the Act. Oakton complies with the Gramm-Leach-Bliley Act (Public Law 106-102, 15 U.S.C. Sec. 6801, et seq.) For specific information, see the Oakton Student Handbook.

District 535 Board of Trustees

William Stafford, Chair 
Paul Kotowski, J.D., Vice Chair 
Marie Lynn Toussaint, J.D., Secretary
Martha Burns
Gail Bush, Ph.D.
Benjamin Salzberg
Wendy B. Yanow, Ed.D.
Karen Suarez, Student Trustee

Trustees Emeriti

Joan W. DiLeonardi, Ph.D.
Joan B. Hall
Jody Wadhwa


Joianne L. Smith, Ph.D., President
May Alimboyoguen, Assistant Dean for Health Careers
Robyn Bailey, Director of Operations and Administration
Marc J. Battista, Associate Vice President of Workforce Education/ Dean of Business and Career Programs
Kelly Iwanaga Becker, Ph.D., Assistant Vice President for Institutional Effectiveness and Strategic Planning
Anne Brennan, Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs and College Transitions
Karl Brooks, Ed.D., Vice President for Student Affairs
Michele Brown, Director of Admission and Enrollment
Edwin Chandrasekar, Vice President for Administrative Affairs
Sebastian Contreras, Jr., Dean of Student Success
Leana Cuellar, Director of Student Learning and Engagement
Shedrick Daniels, Director of Student Life and Campus Inclusion
Al Grippe, Director of Grant Strategy and Development
Colette Hands, Ed.D., Associate Vice President/Chief Human Resources Officer
Jeffrey Hoffmann, Chief of Police and Emergency Management
Ruben Howard II, Ph.D., Director of Workforce Development and Strategic Partnerships
Matthew Huber, Dean of Enrollment Management
Jesse Ivory, Ed.D., Dean of Adult and Continuing Education/Dean of Skokie Campus
Jacob Jeremiah, Assistant Dean of Library
Mark Kiel, Psy.D., Dean of Counseling, Health and Wellness Services
Linda A. Korbel, Dean of Liberal Arts
Renee Kozimor, Director of Software and User Services
Raymond Lawson, Ed.D., Dean of Online Learning
Andrea Lehmacher, Ed.D., Director of Marketing
Ileo N. Lott, Ed.D., Vice President for Academic Affairs
Juletta Patrick, Assistant Vice President for Student Affairs/Dean of Access, Equity and Diversity
Katherine Sawyer, Associate Vice President of Marketing and Communications/Chief Advancement Officer
Joseph Scifo, Director of Facilities
Prashant Shinde, Chief Information Officer
Robert Sompolski, Ph.D., Dean of Science, Technology, Engineering, and Mathematics (STEM) and Health Careers
John Wade, Director of Systems and Network Services
Cheryl Warmann, Ed.D., Registrar/Director of Student Financial Support
Ruth Williams, Assistant Vice President for Academic Affairs/Dean of Curriculum and Instruction
Andy Williams, Controller

The Oakton Community College catalog is published for informational purposes and should not be construed as the basis of a contract between a student and Oakton. Every effort is made to provide information that is accurate at the time the catalog is prepared. However, information on regulations, policies, fees, curricula, courses, and other matters is subject to change any time during the period for which the catalog is in effect.